Community Foundation Welcomes New Trustees


The Charlevoix County Community Foundation is pleased to announce the appointment of two (2) new trustees; Jennifer Boyer and Bill Lorne.

Jennifer Boyer is the Corporate Quality Manager of Burnette Foods, a family owned and operated manufacturing business which distributes shelf-stable food items nationally, serving both retail and food service markets.  Jennifer is a graduate of Oakland University.  Her husband, Derek, teaches at East Jordan Public Schools.  They live in East Jordan with their two children, Isadora and Griffin.  Jennifer serves on the board of the Barber-Galvin Memorial Scholarship Fund and is a member of the East Jordan Housing Solutions group and the Community Foundation’s East Jordan Advisory Committee.  In her free time, Jennifer enjoys traveling, downhill skiing, mountain biking, and surfing on beautiful Lake Charlevoix.  “I’m so pleased to have an opportunity to be a part of the Community Foundation’s future,” she said, “and I’m looking forward to working with the Board and staff to grow the Foundation’s capacity and impact in the years ahead.”

Bill Lorne retired in 2019 from EJ, the worldwide leader in the design, manufacture and distribution of infrastructure access solutions, headquartered in East Jordan. Bill served as the Vice President, Business Development & Corporate Counsel.  Bill is a graduate of the University of Michigan and the University of Detroit School of Law.  He moved to Traverse City in 1978, where he worked for BDO, an accounting firm.  In 1987 he joined EJ.  He is married to Karen Nigg, together they have five children and seven grandchildren.  Bill was one of the founding Trustees of the Charlevoix County Community Foundation.  He is also on the Board of the Great Lakes Chamber Orchestra and the East Jordan Rotary Club. “It’s such a pleasure to be given the opportunity to serve the Community Foundation again,” he said, adding, “I’ve long-admired the Foundation’s work in the community, and I look forward to working with the rest of the Board to advance the Foundation’s mission.”

Josette Lory, Chair of the Foundation's Board of Trustees, is looking forward to working with the new trustees.  “Jennifer and Bill are committed and well-intentioned community citizens,” she said, noting, “the Community Foundation will benefit from their experience and engagement.”

Including the new appointments, the Foundation's Board of Trustees includes fifteen members, representing all regions of Charlevoix County.  Other trustees include; Carol Burton of Beaver Island; Evelyn Howell, Monica Kroondyk, Josette Lory and Lori Meeder of Boyne City; Perry Irish Hodgson, John Doskoch, Don Jess and Bob Hoffman of Charlevoix; and Scott Diller, Fred Malpass, and Tami Vincent of East Jordan.

The Charlevoix County Community Foundation is a grassroots charitable organization made up of various funds – all of them established by local donors. Some funds are earmarked for specific causes, and others are open-ended to meet changing needs. The funds are held in permanent endowment, so they can continue to grow and generate income to enhance the quality of life in Charlevoix County, now and for generations to come.  For more information about the grant-making process, establishing a fund, or making a gift, please contact the Charlevoix County Community Foundation at (231) 536-2440.