What's New

Community foundation awards fall grants

The Community Foundation responded to requests from nonprofit partners this fall, thanks to donors who look to the Community Foundation to make a difference close to home.  Grants will make investments in the County’s communities, such as improvements to performance space on Beaver Island, new chairs and tables for the Boyne District Library’s Community Room, the development of new youth programs at Camp McSauba, and attention to student safety in East Jordan.  Broader impact will be felt across Charlevoix County through projects like a feasibility study to determine the possibility of curbside recycling collection, efforts to ensure adequate water quality and to reduce stormwater impacts in the watershed, and support for programs serving friends and neighbors in need.  

For a complete list of grants made in the fall cycle, click here. 





Modifying funds helps preserve donor intent and maximize community impact  


The Strehls loved their community and established a fund with the Community Foundation in 1999. 

When they passed away, Frank in 2011 and Betty Jo in 2018, the Fund was converted to the Frank J. and Betty J. Strehl Fund for the Community, where their gift can make a lasting impact for generations to come, in the areas of greatest need.











GRANT IMPACT:  Veterans Graves Marked with honor


This past spring and summer, the American Legion Post 227 in East Jordan, in conjunction with the City of East Jordan, placed grave markers on all of the veterans graves in the East Jordan Area. In this way, we honor the service of our veterans close to home. The markers show years of service and/or various wars in which our local veterans served.